21 Day Fix – It’s Arrived!!

21DayFixLast month Beachbody released a new diet/workout plan designed by celebrity trainer Autumn Calabrese called the 21 Day Fix. According the website:

It’s a unique portion-control system combined with easy-to-follow workouts that fit into anyone’s busy schedule. Trainer Autumn Calabrese shares her passion for food and fitness as she shows you how to make simple choices that add up to life-changing results.”

What peaked my curiosity about this system was the portion control aspect. Along with a workout plan, the 21 Day Fix features colored containers that correlate to different food groups. You select foods from a provided clean eating list, and if it fits in the container, you can eat it! For example the purple container is for fruits. Blackberries are an approved fruit. No need to count the berries, just put as many that fit into the purple container and your done.

Americans have trouble visually assessing correct portion size, partially because restaurants have super-sized them. I used to be under the impression that if you were eating vegetables you could eat as much as you want. But even veggie calories can add up. The bottom line is you can overdo it with healthy foods too and this program is designed to retrain your visual system and brain to understand what a normal portion size looks like.

On Friday my Beachbody package arrived. I was really excited about getting my hands on those little containers and reading about the eating plan. Let’s just say I got home, saw the containers, and a mild panic set in! It’s hard to estimate what size they are from online pictures. Well let me tell you that these containers seem small. But then again, my portion sizes have probably been off for a long time and for most colors you get more than one container a day. My awesome Beachbody coach Shel had also reassured me that you eat plenty of food with this plan. Before I put my order in she had been sending me pictures of her meals and they looked legit! Even knowing all this I’d be lying if I said I was anxiety free, but I’m excited to start the program.

21 Day Fix containers with a pen for scale.

The next step is to start meal planning for the week and head to the store for supplies!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness

Leave a Reply

